About Us

By combining deep expertise in peptide discovery and development, MBX Biosciences is pioneering a new era of peptide therapeutics that confront the challenges of managing endocrine and metabolic diseases.

In overcoming the limitations of current therapies, we aim to improve the standard of care by reducing the severity of these diseases and simplifying the treatment regimen.

Core Values

The pillars of our organization

As both individuals and an organization, we are driven to make a positive impact in the world; that’s why we do what we do. Spanning hiring to company culture to product development, we are guided by our core values to help us reach our goals swiftly, responsibly, and efficiently.


Building trust through transparency and authenticity in all aspects of our work and communication.


Commitment to honesty and accountability. We act with the highest standards of professionalism and quality.


Embracing collaboration and inclusivity in all our work.


Translating leading-edge science into transformative medicines accessible to people in need of them.

Leadership team

MBX was founded by pioneers in the endocrine drug development field and is led by a team of seasoned industry veterans with a common goal to transform the treatment of endocrine and metabolic disorders and improve people’s lives. Members of our leadership team have collaborated successfully over several decades on the discovery, development and commercialization of first-in-class endocrine therapeutics including Forteo®, Humalog®, and Byetta®.

Kent Hawryluk
President & CEO
Richard Bartram, CPA
Chief Financial Officer
Steven J. 
Prestrelski, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
Sam Azoulay, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Michelle Graham
Chief Human Resources Officer
Michael A. Dorato, PhD, DABT, Fellow ATS, FRSB
Vice President, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Elisa Fabbrini, MD, PhD
Vice President, Clinical Development
Matt Gambino
Vice President, Marketing
Stewart Hallett
Vice President, Clinical Operations
Rita Shah, PharmD
Vice President, Global Regulatory Affairs
Paul Wright, PhD
Vice President, CMC

Board of Directors

Tiba Aynechi
General Partner, Norwest Venture Partners
Jim Cornelius
Retired Chairman & CEO, Bristol Myers Squibb
Carl Gordon
Managing Partner, OrbiMed
Kent Hawryluk
President & CEO, MBX Biosciences
Patrick Heron
Managing Partner, Frazier Healthcare Partners
Ed Mathers
General Partner, New Enterprise Associates
Ora Pescovitz
President, Oakland University
Steven Ryder
Chief Medical Officer, Rallybio

Scientific Advisory Board

John P. Bilezikian, MD, PhD (hon)

Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine at the Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons, Columbia University; Vice Chair of the Department of Medicine for International Education and Research; Chief Emeritus, Division of Endocrinology; Director, Emeritus, Metabolic Bone Diseases Program, Columbia University Medical Center

Willard Dere, MD

Retired Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine at the University of Utah (B. Lue and Hope S. Bettilyon Presidential Endowed Chair in Internal Medicine for Diabetes Research)

Michael J. Econs, MD

Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism; Director: Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism; Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Medical and Molecular Genetics, Indiana University School of Medicine

Mishaela Rubin, MD

Professor of Medicine at CUIMC, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University Irving Medical Center


Delores Shoback, MD

Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine